Transparent Communication in the Workplace: Benefits & How to Get Started

Transparent communication builds trust. And trust nurtures a workplace environment full of inspiration, camaraderie, respect, and success.

Vijay S Paul
4 min readJan 22, 2021
Person standing in the midle of a lake with its reflection around.
Photo by Pepe Reyes on Unsplash

A few years back when I used to run my own startup, I used to think that the lesser information I give my employees about business operations, the more control I could have over the business.

Never have I been more wrong.

You see, transparency is vital. And transparent communication is foremost when you run a business or are part of one.

All those years when I used to communicate with my employees on a need-to-know-basis, little did I know that I was setting myself up for failure. Transparency needs to be core to any company’s values. Thinking logistically in terms of open floor plans, monthly meetings, etc do not suffice.

Similar to how trust is important in personal life, it is important in the workplace too. Transparent communication builds trust. And trust nurtures a workplace environment full of inspiration, camaraderie, respect, and success.

Benefits of transparent communication

--

--

Vijay S Paul

Founder & Blogger @TypewriterMedia, Content Strategist, Storyteller. My newsletter on Communications & Content Strategy — bit.ly/Subscribe2TM